Uncommon Sense

Because sometimes we need to see the forest

Pride and Prejudice

Beatrice & I walked down to Caper’s Loft Bar and Bistro last evening for a drink in the upstairs bar, then over to catch the 9:30 showing of Pride and Prejudice. Truth is, I’ve never paid much attention to Jane Austen, or her works, but I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed each of the 128 minutes of this film. Keira Knightly’s performance was just perfect as Elizabeth Bennett. Of Miss Bennett, Jane Austen once wrote:

"I must confess that I think her as delightful a
character as ever appeared in print, and how I shall be able to tolerate those
who do not like her at least, I do not know."

It would be hard for me to grasp how that could not have been their guiding light in making this film. Go see it.

 

December 20, 2005 - Posted by | Film

No comments yet.

Leave a comment